Online courses have removed the need for conventional classes. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Thanks to immense innnovations in the field of science and technology, especially Internet and broadband connections, the concept of online courses has been made possible. Although I believe that up to a certain extent are there benefits in this new invention over traditional classes, I do not think it reduces their importance.

It is clear that distance learning has some upsides over conventional classrooms. One of the clearest of them is the flexibility for trainees, due to the fact that most online courses are compiled into videos and uploaded to the course providers’ website, which can be rewatched with a simple click if needed, along with the unneccesity to gather at school at certain time for class, allowing flexible schedules for the student. Besides, studying at home also helps to create a comfortable environment for the student, boosting their results. Online classes elinimates the need to commute between school and home, saving time and petrol costs. Some examples of online courses provider sites are Udemy, Coursera, Udacity, Skillshare and so on, providing trainees with different skills needed for their career within their freetime. All of those provide a chance for student to have a better schedule for their study, achieving the best results.

However, despite the benefits of distance learning over traditional schools, it does not mean that those schools are rendered useless. The supply of equipments and laboratories, which is essential for practice-intensive subjects such as engineering, mechanics, chemistry,… cannot be satisfied by online courses, which makes this style of education unsuitable. In addition to this, lack of Peer-to-peer and face-to-face interaction is a another major drawback of online courses, which, on the other hand, also is a factor for improving student’s studying efficiency. Inadequate social interactions are not bringing benefits to the students’ result. Furthermore, flexibility is also a trade-off, in which a great amount of self-motivation is required for students to keep up with the lessons during studying through the Internet within the comfort of their home.

In conclusion, even though e-learning helps students to better adapt their study into their schedule, the role of traditional classes is not replaced.