"The power of modern devices lies in their ability to allow us to connect, but at the same time, disconnect with each other. We now have more relationships online, but at the same time, less relationships offline."

In your opinion, does technology bring us closer together or further apart? Use reasons and specific examples from your own knowledge or experience to support your answer.

Write your essay in at least 300 words and in no more than 500 words.

The popularity and ubiquity of modern devices and the advent of information technology has evolved at a speed of such magnitude difficult to access, along with the proliferation of social networking sites has bestowed us with the ability to create a greatly increased number of connections with others. Although this revolution may come with a repercussion of a possibility of drifting offline connections away, I strongly believe that adopting modern technology has been a cornerstone in establishing more interhuman connections over the past decades.

With the exponentially growing prevalence of electronic devices, we can observe a devastating effect on off-screen relationships, mostly due to overuse. Influenced by both undue pressure of work and personal desire, people now devote an unproportionally high amount of their time reserve to electronic devices, depriving them of time with their family. A story of a first-grader who wishes that he could be a mobile phone so that his parents would have more time with him instead of bounding up in such an insentient object has shown how much we have been indulging ourselves in the comfort of modern devices whilst thinking no more of our beloved ones. Not only adults but also their offspring, with the advent of video games and social networking sites, have allocated much more of their time to smartphones and computers than to talking with their family members and families, thus widening the generation gap.

But for the technological revolutions and evolution of the Internet, we would not have been able to achieve the magnitude of interhuman relationships as we have today. The formation and flourishing of instant-messaging systems and online social networking sites that allow us to communicate effortlessly and instantaneously notwithstanding the extent of geographical distance around the globe, and people of similar interests can easily find fellows within online groups or servers on those systems. To exemplify this, we can have a look at Facebook, which has long been a reliable way for groups and clubs to recruit their members, and Discord with a wide range of “servers” relating to specific topics have attracted and aided people in making new friends. Technology has also played a key role in maintaining and sustaining old relationships, where instead of having to meet each other directly or wasting time waiting for letters over far distance, keeping in touch with, for example, childhood friends, far relatives has been made easier just through a phone call or a message. More than that, the availability of video calls has also made steps in simulating more of a real meeting, which connects us even more.

In conclusion, although there may be some unfavorable adverse effects from abusing technology on existing relationships, I strongly reaffirm the importance of technology in aiding people to connect and sustain existing connections.