Some people say that citizens should be given freedom to express their personal opinions and concerns about the social problems on the Internet.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Efflorescence of technological innovations has culminated and gave birth to the Internet, a medium for not only reception of information, but also thoughts expression for multitudinous citizens through social networks, forums and similar websites. Such a development raised a consensus that citizenship should be accompanied by freedom of speech regarding contemporary social affairs in this environment. From my standpoint, I uphold that notion in complete agreement.

To initiate, my underpinning for proposing internet free flow of information is its ability to convey citizens’ needs and demands to governments. Previously, voicing opinions on social matters was impeded by numerous arduities such as lack of funding and adequate means. Now, only through simple status updates being posted on social networks, people could bring their topic into the center of attention through vast availability of fellow users, forcing the government to take corresponding measures toward the issue. Hence, only through this can people’s pressing be adequately addressed and alleviated. To corroborate, thanks to the Internet, ambiguities surrounding a twelfth-grade female student’s traffic collision that resulted in casualty were resolved. Without such freedom, dissatisfaction of the government is indispensable, stoking up public anger, catalyzing demonstration or even revolution. Their people will happily devote themselves to working for their beloved government, puting the country’s prosperity in a secure position.

On the other hand, there exists a group of people deeming that unrestricted content on the Internet could stir up grave misconceptions. Thus, it is important to impose controlling policies. Nevertheless, this notion besets itself with fallacies. To rebut, I start off by highlighting that Internet users are not constituted by a group of inadequately educated people. For example, the news lambaste a man who raped a teenager and a certain person palliate for the man by rounding the case down to the child’s scanty clothing, that comment will also be subjected to lacerbations and counterarguments, thus prevent any deivation from the norm. However, even if such misconceptions were not to be rebutted, it is every user’s responsibility to use their personal principles to decide truth and falsehood. Ultimately, the risk of online freedom of speech spreading misinformation is unfounded.

In short, I strongly reaffirm my point that citizens should be guaranteed their online free flow of information considering the points aforementioned.