Many newspapers and magazines feature stories about the private life of famous people. We know what they eat, where they buy their clothes and who they love. We also often see pictures of them in private situations.

Is it appropriate for a magazine or a newspaper to give this kind of private information about people?

Exposure to the Internet combined with today’s higher standard for emotional intelligence have allowed people to revisit behaviors with problematic undertone that were considered normal in the past. For instance, the overly-invasiveness of newspapers and magazines when it comes to the lives of celebrities. In fact, every aspect of their lives are either televised or put on social media for viewers to see. However, many have suggested that this is not something our society should move forward to normalizing, and I fully agree with this notion. As such, in this essay, I will be providing my own ideas and elucidation of some popular arguments against the exploitation of celebrities’ privacy.

First, it is crucial to look into why the demand for famous people’s pictures is so high. When one idolises a person, it is only eventual that they want to know more and more about the figure they so adore. This can come as the forms of personal information, their habits, likings, personality, and of course, pictures. With respect to the said celebrity in mind, an issue would not be aroused at all, but this is obviously not the case most of the time. So, why exactly is this problematic?

It is safe to say that celebrities are no less human than your average Joe, yet many people do not seem to be able to comprehend this fact. This consequently gives rise to a division in the way famous people are perceived, as either they are met with insensible worship or out-right disregard of basic human rights. The reason for this immense disparity lies in the way the media tends to portray them as unrealistic figures, negatively or positively notwithstanding. And while some celebrities thrive on the constant attention they receive, others, understandibly, don’t appreciate hving every aspect of their life on camera. Also, in the age of social media, one can have total control over what they post and can, to a degree, manipulate how they are perceived there. This begs the question: Why can’t famous people have that same freedom and control? Such inequality is something our society needs to be working against during this day and age, not perpetuating it through dehumanzing and commercializing the well-known. Lastly, it is not hidden to the plain eyes that paparazzi are behind the majority of these celebrity pictures. Consequently, anyone with the sightest bit of common sense knows that what paparazzi do are very much illegal, so why again are we allowing them to roam this freely?

It is understandable that one is excited to know about their idols’ lives, but it should not come at the price of their privacy. As such, I further reinforce my belief that it is not appropriate for magazines and newspaper to display unprecedented pictures of celebrities for profit.