Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals.

Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, zoos and their roles in protecting animals have been a subject of intense debates. From my perspective, although it can be asserted that zoos also have contributed to preserving species of wild animals, I am with the view of the restricting of zoos for the brutal activities involved.

On the one hand, it is argued that animals should not or must not be kept in zoos for a variety of reasons. Firstly, animals living in zoos tend to be kept in small cages, where they are fed by artificial foods and are reliant on humans for their livelihood. Secondly, the majority of zoos serve as a form of entertainment for both local people and tourists, in which those owners can generate revenues on them. More importantly, some animals here are subjects or specimens in conducting such cruel scientific researches, where they are suffered from stress, pain and eventually death. This is mistreatment with animals, against animal rights, we have no right to use animals for entertainment and profit.

On the other hand, other people claim that zoos play an important role in acting as places for preserving wildlife. With such space to protect wild animals, zoos would also help to save the animals in danger of extinction. However, even though it is true to some extent, animals in zoos are provided with limited space in artificial habitats, in which the rights for freedom are deprived of those animals. Besides, some endangered animals live in uncommonly special habitats that cannot be replicated by zoos. One of the most efficient ways to preserve animals in the endangered list is through the protection of their natural habitats, therefore zoos do not hold the critical role in this field.

In conclusion, despite the argument that zoos can help to preserve wild animals, they do not play a crucial role, instead, the cruelty of zoos in form of entertainment, scientific researches and animals’ dependent on humans for survive sounds more sensible.