Some people think that success should be measured by the material possessions a person has acquired while others think it should be judged by the knowledge he or she has.

There lives diversified opinions about what could be determinants of success. One conspicuous view of which is that success should be assimilated to the accomplishment of tangible properties whereas others believe rather how much knowledge a person has acquired to be the factor. This essay will delve deeper to both of these views, and state my opinion that neither these factors alone would live up to such a role.

In a materialistic society we are living today, money is the key to achieve from basic necessities to luxurious passions, whose reflection is usually through the possession of tangible assets, thus making a person with opulence very likely to be regarded as successful. However, this view is flawed by dints of not taking into account other criteria such as family life or contribution to society. Take into example the case of Trung Nguyen Group, whose founder conflicted with his wife and putting his family in split or the affluent people controlling drug business, gaining most of their financial status through illegal means. In addition, not all progression through out a person's life, such as academic achievement, mental would evaluate to cash. Accordingly, using money as the sole indicator would remain insufficient for assessing success.

Analogously, unaccompanied knowledge is inadequate as a measurement criterion of success. People who believe otherwise may stoke up a forgone conclusion that individuals with an ample amount of knowledge have the ability to make sensible decisions throughout their life, thus making them achievers. However, this idea suffers from grave misapprehension of the relationship between knowledge and wisdom. The former bears no direct correlation to the latter, which means that any adult with an abundance of knowledge attained, such as in-depth facts, details, information of a situation or multiple topics, is not necessarily able to make sound decisions, but to be precise, it is the utilization of such knowledge enables one to and is what truly defines success. So often depicted in a multitude of TV shows such as "Way to Olympia peak" are individuals who demonstrated vast intellectual understanding across segments of life, but setting aside such knowledge-niched talent, not much of them have been heard of great contributions to society.

In conclusion, although either knowledge and materialistic affluence may be a necessity to succeed, but singularly insufficient to guarantee so. In my opinion, wisdom where one is able to make thorough decisions with regards to ethnicity, laws and one's wishes is what would define one's success.