Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes, other people believe that It is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views about whether should children become independent in choosing things related to their life. Although it is true that allowing children to make those choices is necessary for their development, I shall say that parents should cooperate with their children in order to find the best choice or risk of nurturing uncaring human beings.

It can be argued that permitting children to make choices pertaining to their daily matters such as food, clothing or entertainment is beneficial in different ways. Firstly, it will give them a sense of freedom, where they are freed from the constraints of their parents in life. Secondly, it would cultivate their way of thinking, becoming more independent on their parents, being able to decide things on their own without much help. This is vital to their later life since one day they will have to make decisions by themselves about their life.

However, there should be limits on this allowance, parents, and children should work together for a better choice. Yet, it is true that children are not old enough to decide what is good for them, and they might not think thoroughly about their decisions. For example, when given the freedom to choose their favorite clothes, children would choose fashionable and costly ones, in which they may not care about their parents’ budget. Without a doubt, if interventions are made, as time passes they will grow up to selfish individuals, thinking only about themselves. Therefore, restrictions are needed along with the cooperation of parents for the best things.

In conclusion, albeit allowing children to make choices about their own life is needed, it should be confined to some extent and the involvement of parents for the best choice.