Some people believe that children should spend all of their free time with their families. Others believe that this is unnecessary or even negative. Discuss the possible argument on both sides, and say which side you personally support.

Opinions are divergent as regards how children should use their freetime. A line of reasoning asserts that their whole free time reserve should be allocated to family quality time, whereas others believe such excessive family time to be redundant. This essay will discuss rationales of both camps in the forthcoming paragraphs before stating my opinion in favor of the latter.

On the one hand, parental positive influences are what proponents of the first view cite for their approval. By staying with their parents, children are sure to be protected from unfortunate perils, such as abductions, truancy or delinquency. Parents are there to prevent such incidents, or were they to occur, prompt actions are always taken to protect the child. Thus their safety is ensured. In addition, parents lend themselves to being good role models for children to learn from. This helps them learn how to behave properly, code of conduct and prevent them from bad influences of other nefarious friends or other people.

However, detrimental effects from this action is what the second groups uphold for the disapproval. Due to an over-excessive time attaching to their parents, grounds for children’s independence are rare. This greatly dampens their ability to do things independently, such as taking care of their own selves or learning to cope with changes. It also hinders their social skills, such as making friends or establishing connections, because interaction with strangers is limited. The matter is further exacerbated when the parents and family themselves, are imperfect models which could instill improper values into the children, rendering them perpetually immature as an individual.

In short, while allocating all free time with family would have some benefits of shielding children from outside hazards, it deprives them of the ability to grow up as an independent and mature individual. Thus, I side myself with the second argument.