Some people believe that children should spend all of their free time with their families. Others believe that this is unnecessary or even negative.

Discuss the possible argument on both sides, and say which side you personally support.

A question of allocating children’s free hours to a family activities is one of the most important debates of our century. It is often argued that out of study period young people should only be occupied by their parents, whilst others disagree and see such approach as not essential and even harmful.

A family time forms a solid foundation of child’s personality and hence has to be prioritised over any other social interactions. Engaging in external socialisation activities, such as visiting friends or going to the cinema, could create destructive habits in a young persona. Despite this, not being able to build relationships with outer circle, leads to net-surfing and therefore creates a socially inept population. For instance, study in the UK revealed that primary school students spending at least five hours per week outside of the household were the most skilled in public speech and presentation later on.

However, many disagree and feel that leaving the youth without an opportunity to have some time slots at their personal disposal, is destructive. Moreover, diverse friendship spheres help them gain a real-life experience, which is equally important to education. It is therefore agreed that to make children more prepared for the future, it is crucial to shape their characters with multiple societal groups. Italy is a prime example, where summer camps are extremely popular starting from a very early age.

In conclusion, while the benefits of limiting the adolescent’s circle to family members only, protects them from undesired behavioural patterns, some still feel that it does more harm than good. Hence, as long as mothers and fathers make an effort to control with whom their offsprings befriend, the prospects of real human connections are clearly positive.