Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals, others say that there are more important environmental problems.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

People hold different views about the concerns of the environment. Although it is true that the decline of certain species of both the flora and fauna is a critical issue, I would argue that it shall not be the core focus and other important issues to deal with.

It can be argued that the decline in some species of animals and plants is a critical issue, due to the fact that animals and plants are the lifeblood of humanity. Uncommon animal species with certain values in entertainment, education, medicines, or act as important sources of food, are found to be rare and facing the possibility of extinction. This trend can be credited to human behaviors, take the Cao Bang musk deers, for example, a medical source for treating some diseases, are now endangered due to deforestation and illegal hunting. Losing such valuable species that play an integral part in maintaining the ecological balance and biodiversity is a disadvantage for humanity.

On the other hand, there isn’t only one important environmental concern for humanity to deal with. Climate change is another issue that scientists and environmentalists care about, where the emission of greenhouse gases from industrial factories trap the heat from going to the outer space, leading to a phenomenon known as the greenhouse effect. The increased temperature would lead to the melting the polar ice caps, resulting in rising sea levels and even tsunami. Besides, excess usage of aerosol spray cans and refrigerants is the primary reason for the depletion of the ozone layer, solar radiations would then pose a serious threat to the health of humans.

In conclusion, despite justifications for the seriousness of the disappearance of certain species, it is obviously not the most significant problem, there are other problems equal to it in terms of urgency.