Some working parents think that childcare centres provide the best care for children who are still too young to go to school. Other working parents think that family members such as grandparents will be better carers for their children.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this hustling and bustling pace of life where parents are tied to a nine-to-five schedule of office hours, the conundrum of caregivers for their preschool children in lieu of them is permeative. A consensus is of opinion that grandparents are perfectly well-suited for this goal, while others place faith in nurseries. I shall analyze both notions in the forthcoming paragraphs followed by a conclusion stating my standpoint in favor of the latter.

Kinship lays the underpinning of grandparents’ capability of overtaking child care. As a saying goes “blood is thicker than water”, offsprings are far from vulnerable under supervision of people in the same genealogy book with affections and caring on par with their parents’. In addition, with grandparents’ wisdom and life experiences comes profound education in social norms and life skills for toddlers to become better citizens of society. More importantly, abundant time reserves of retired seniors would tantamount to devotion of even more attention to the children’s well-being, rendering grandparents suitable as both conscientious caregivers and educators. However, most grandparents lack adequate training in early education for their offsprings and not every family has grandparents to do this work.

On the other hand, childcare centers serve as a better alternative corroborated by qualifications of the caretakers. With adequate education and diverse experience of nursery staffs, children are able to grow whilst bathing in suitable education of what they should be learning. These centres’ facilities including toys and studying materials are usually better furnished than at home so as to provide optimal education. More importantly, vast availability of fellow partners during nursery care also empowers the children to form social skills and relationships. By and large, these institutions foster children’s comprehensive growth. Despite instances of abusive malpractices and outrageous behaviors hitting the headlines, careful vetting of such kindergartens would help to avoid this hazard.

In conclusion, grandparents are suitable carers for their offsprings; however, with careful selection, nursery homes would do a better job.