Some people prefer to provide help and support directly to those in need. Others however prefer to give money to national and international charitable organisations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

Unconditional public-spiritedness has perpetually been a sought-for attribute permeating through numerous moral principles and textbooks and is evident today through the form of charity, yet how contribution should be made engenders largely divergent opinions. A line of reasoning asserts that volunteers should lend themselves to manpower for charity bodies, while others advocate monetary donations. I shall delve deeper into both notions in the upcoming paragraph before stating my standpoint in favor of the former.

Profound serviceability for humanitarian organizations is begotten through people’s direct indulgence in altruistic activities. With the participation of new volunteers from diverse backgrounds come immense manpower and an enriched pool of knowledge. This serves to compensate for personnel deficiency for certain positions that would have otherwise incurred hiring charges on the organization, and aid crucial decision-making. In addition, such contributory activities are more accessible by the general public, especially those with abundant time reserves rather than a privilege for only the better off. More importantly, volunteer work also presents golden opportunities to gain not only life experience and maturity for younger people, but also to raise their awareness of others’ sufferings and lead a better life. By and large, participants’ service satisfies much-needed scarcity while benefiting the large community and the partakers themselves.

Yet a school of thought places faith in making financial donations to philanthropic consortiums. This may seem like a better alternative to those who cannot allocate time for direct support, as a bank transfer would only take seconds. However, in the long run, this would result in undesirable repercussions. It is not axiomatic that leaders of such bodies are impervious to human nature’s greed and gluttony. Instances of embezzlement are not rare, exemplified by Vietnamese celebrities’ public raising funds being peculated by the leaders themselves such as the scandal of Hoai Linh and Thuy Tien recently hit the headlines. Ergo, this is unfair for both volunteers and donors involved, rendering their contributions sent elsewhere. Were executives not to be stricken with greed, 100% of all money donated would not reach the people in need per se, due to loss in taxes and payment for human resources.

In conclusion, direct contributions to humanitarian programs unravel the riddle of manpower scantiness while also helping the people involved themselves, whereas donating money comes with unfavorable outcomes. For those who are lacking in time to join volunteer work, sending gifts such as food and clothes would serve the purpose better.