Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is argued by some people that allowing children to make their own decisions regarding daily activities of life, like what to eat, what to wear or what to do for leisure, may create a society where individuals only think of themselves selfishly. However, many people hold the idea that it's important for a child's grooming to make their own decisions in certain situations that affect them. I firmly believe in the idea that children should make their personal decisions themselves under parental guidance.

The notion that children will grow up to become a society of selfish, uncaring and arrogant individuals if they are given total freedom in their daily lives, isn't very far fetched. Young minds are naive and impressionable that's why it's important to supervise them. Moreover, children aren't good at judging what's good or bad for themselves or society in general, therefore they may unintentionally cause harm.The stereotype of rich kids being snobbish has some basis in the fact that they don't have much parental restrictions on them. To put it simply, children are immature and need help to make the right decisions.

On the other hand, providing children with the opportunity to decide the outcomes of their daily matters is a helpful way to teach them responsibility. When young people are given controlled freedom, under parent's or teacher's guidance to make various decisions about routine matters, they can learn miscellaneous life lessons. For instance, a survey of college students made a revelation that those who were involved in financial decisions at home as teenagers were more better at budgeting than those who weren't. In simple terms, allowing children to make guided decisions make them more responsible.

In conclusion, I reckon that allowing children to make guided decisions is important to teach them consequences of their actions and responsibility. But complete freedom can be devastating for themselves and civilization as a whole.