Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed by some people that, in this modern age, we have too many choices available to us. They could be anything from going to college or university of choice, choosing a profession that we prefer or running for the office of prime minister if we wish. But not all the freedom has positive impacts and some some individuals find it hard to navigate through the sea of choices and get lost. I completely agree with this statement and the reasons are entailed below.

Firstly, we enjoy a great degree of freedom and human rights as compared to our ancestors. In this era, if anyone wants to pursue a career in mathematics, physics, astronomy or medicine, they are entirely free to do so. However, this wasn't always the case, as previously a good quality education was mostly reserved for the elites of the society. But thanks to the struggles of our forefathers, a son of a blacksmith or butcher can study at the same institution as the son of rich and powerful. This is all very precious, but an ill-guided young man can easily loose his way and waste his life, if he makes the wrong choice. To put it simply, we today live in a society with much better human rights than before.

Secondly, the thought of a non-royal person becoming the ruler of a nation or kingdom only a few centuries ago, would have caused riots in streets. But today, anyone can run for the seat of the highest office in the country and realize his or her dreams. Furthermore, people welcome the minority groups and ethnicity into power with almost more respect than the majority candidates. For example, Barack Obama became the first president of the United States, in 2008, who was from a minority ethnicity and son of an African immigrant. Therefore, in simple terms, today a person can be limited in his choices only by his own imagination.

In conclusion, we do enjoy a lot more freedom in our choices today. May it be choosing a career or deciding to rule a country. And this makes it all the more important to tread forward wisely in this era.