In spit of the advances made in agriculture, many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

We live in a time, where more food is being produced in the world than it has ever been. Improving technology and better understanding of nature has made it possible to cultivate and harvest with much higher productivity. So, why is it that people still go hungry around the world? And what can be done to prevent this? One of the main reasons for this is reliance on imported food and the best way to manage this is to become self-sufficient.

Although the world is producing more food, most of it is produced in a handful of countries. Most of the other countries import food products from such nations, either because they cannot meet their requirements or they do not have suitable environment for its growth. Furthermore, it is not cheap to import food products, so only a wealthy country can do it. So in cases of economic turmoil or decreased production, these dependent nations can face food shortages. Take the example of North Korea. Because it relies on imported food, in cases of tough embargos, it becomes short of food. To put it simply, a country can never be food secure, unless it starts production of its own food.

The management of this problem is not easy but there are various way that can help. Producing your own food, until you become self-sufficient is an important step. This may seem like an easy idea in theory but actually achieving this is a herculean task. It requires good governance, proper management and thinking way ahead in to the future. China is a great example of this, as they utilized their indigenous skills to grow native crops and achieved self-sufficiency. It’s currently one of the most food secure nations on earth. Therefore, self-reliance is the key to managing food insecurity.

In conclusion, importing food from other places is risky and important cause of food shortages, whereas self-reliance is a great way to tackle this difficult situation.