Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social problems, as well as practical problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In this age of globalization, fast communication and easy travelling, it has become very convenient to explore the world. However,everything is not as perfect as it sounds. Some people argue that living in a foreign country, where you can not speak their language fluently, may cause grave personal or social difficulties. They claim it makes it very hard to live abroad. While I partially agree with this statement, it shouldn't deter us from settling abroad.

Learning a new language as an adult is not a joke. It requires a lot of dedication and hard work. It may completely change your way of thinking, along with you personality sometimes. And if you don't adapt to these reforms quick enough, it surely will cause some inconveniences. For example, Japanese find it rude to call elderly people by their names, rather they use titles like 'Oji-wan'. Imagine the immense embarrassment for an expatriate if he were to make such a mistake. Hence, it can be embarrassing to be aware of only the language and not the culture.

Now, as far as living in a foreign land is concerned, if the visitor's demeanor and personality are respectable and modest, then language barrier shouldn't be a significant hurdle. Love and respect are the same in all languages and culture throughout the world. Take the example of Sir Jeffery Langland's, who was a British teacher that settled in the foothills of Himalayas. Although he did not know the native language, he managed to convince the locals to let him teach their children the modern subjects. Therefore, respect and humility are more important tools to survive in a foreign place than just the language.

In conclusion, granted that language barriers can cause problems but those can be overcome by a good heart and a great nature.