Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Efficient and modern infrastructure is the need of the fast moving world. While some people believe that investment in railway infrastructure is much needed than spending on road construction, I believe that developments in both sectors are equally important.

Roads and trains are the backbone of the economy of a nation. A wide and well-constructed road cuts the transportation time of a commercial truck by a big margin as compare to the time required on narrow roads for same mode of travel. For instance, the highway construction in India has been increased by 50% in comparison to last 5 years' road building activity, which results in a drastic reduction in travel time and fuel consumption, and it is directly impacting the cost of commodities being transported. This is one of the main reasons why the price of domestic consumables has not increased in India for last 5 years.

Interestingly, train is extremely useful in mass transportation. For example, coals from mines, crude oil from petroleum fields can be transferred to the processing factories in a cost effective manner if trains are used as a mode of communication, while passengers can also reach destination more quickly. Moreover, trains are more effective in carbon footprint reduction because most of the trains are running on electricity and a single locomotive can perform the same job of ten trucks or buses.

I believe that both modes, roads and rails, have their own advantages. The train is highly effective in case of large transportation, while well-constructed roads are super efficient, especially, where locomotive connection is not feasible, such as hilly areas. Thus, investment in both sectors is highly required for a prosperous country.