Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Over the last century, thanks to a myriad of technological inventions, the quality of mankind's life has been improved significantly. Among those, some believe that computers are the most crucial ones. Personally, I vehemently agree with this notion.

First and foremost, computers have unquestionably increased the efficiency of work activities. To be specific, by virtue of a wide range of programs installed on the computers, the tasks which used to consume a huge amount of time can now be completed far more quickly. For instance, with the help of the word processing programs, a book author can save hours of handwriting, if not days, to finish their piece of work. If computer had not been invented, the work productivity would have been lowered, which could indirectly worsen our living standards.

Furthermore, not only do computers facilitate work, but they also become a wonderful source of entertainment. This is because when connected with the Internet, computers are able to provide the users with the diverse and unique experiences to help them unwind after long hours of work. As an example, hardly anyone could deny that playing game, listening to music and watching movie via computers have become prevalent ways to enjoy their leisure time. Without such activities, humans' daily lives could have been rendered colourless.

All in all, since computers have played a pivotal role in enhancing the quality of work and entertainment of human beings, I strongly concur with the notion that computer has been the most essential innovation these days.