The only way to improve safety on our roads is to give much stricter punishments for driving offences. To what degree do you agree or disagree?

These days, road accidents have become a pressing issue in urban areas. Some believe that applying more rigorous punishments to those who violate the driving rules is the only effective solution to tackle the problem, thereby improve the road traffic safety. From my point of view, I partly concur with this.

On the one hand, it is unquestionable that setting stringent penal rules could significantly secure safety for road commuters. This is because if the critical punishments are executed, the commuters will make every effort to comply with the rules. For instance, it is known that an excessive number of road accidents were instigated by overconsumption of alcoholics for years; however, since a high financial fine is used to penalize drunk drivers, people start to consume less and less alcohols and wine, thus considerably alleviate the situation. Conversely, had it not been for punishments for breaking the traffic rules, more accidents would have happened due to the misbehavior of people commuting on the road.

Nevertheless, implementing punishments should not be the only solution to maintain safe commute. In fact, there are a myriad of measures that could be taken to increase the level of road safety. Improving the quality of infrastructures, such as road and bridge, and organizing education programs providing guidelines to drive safely are such wonderful ideas that can ensure safe drives for members in the society when combined with appropriate penal regime.

All in all, although heavy punishment is evidently a potent measure to improve secure safety, a multitude of other measures are also required to maximize the level of safety for those travelling on road.