Most people accept that we now live in a globalised world but not everyone agrees

that this is beneficial.

To what extent is globalisation a positive or negative development?

It is unquestionable that globalization has exerted significant changes to humans’ daily life. However, opinions diverge on whether this trend should be considered as advantageous or detrimental. In my view, the opportunities of living in the era of globalization outweigh the challenges it has brought.

On the one hand, there is little doubt that globalization is to be responsible for creating serious problems to every country in the world. First and foremost, due to the growth of globalization, many local cultures in every country have been facing the risk of erosion and extinction. For instance, many Vietnamese nowadays insert foreign words in their daily conversations in an inappropriate manner, which can lead to the deterioration of their national language. Also, globalization also exacerbates pandemic, by which millions of people could be killed, as people of different nationalities can effortlessly travel across countries and continents.

Nevertheless, globalization has brought a number of positive changes to the development of human race. It is easy to notice that trade and commerce has been proliferating on an unprecedented scale thanks to the cooperation among countries. As a result, with the profits gained from international trade and commercial activities, the economy of each country and of the world as a whole can grow rapidly, which in turn contributes to the wellbeing of every member of the society. Furthermore, developing countries may also have the chance to learn from the developed countries in various fields, ranging from technology to human education. This could help to shorten the development gap between wealthy and underdeveloped country.

All in all, despite the negative aspects of globalization, the benefits it has brought should be considered greater.