Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Public health, which often determines how happy and productive citizens in a country are, is a concern for the people and administration alike around the world. However, when it comes to measures of its improvements, opinions vary. I believe improved sports facilities have a correlation with better health for the general public but others measures should be fed into the system.

To begin with, sports facilities and amusement amenities naturally encourage people to use those facilities and thus increase the hours they spend doing exercise or physical exertion. A park or a gymnasium full of people talks in favour of this argument. If the authority builds more health clubs, sports fields and parks, thousands more would start using those. Moreover, sports reduce the risk of obesity and heart diseases and increasing the number of sports centres in local communities can help community members lead an active life and thus prevent deadly diseases.

Nevertheless, sports centres alone cannot guarantee the sound health of the citizens. Public awareness about the dangers of a sedentary lifestyle is required. On top of that, including health-related subjects in schools and participation of private organisations are required. Lessons students learn from schools have a great impact on the life they chose to lead. Besides, private organisations should arrange amenities for their employees to take part in sports activities within the office premises. Organisations like Google and Facebook, for instance, have already welcomed this practice and raised the health awareness among their employees.

To conclude, I wholeheartedly welcome the idea of establishing more sports facilities for community members as these amenities are very useful for a healthy society. I also believe that other measures along with this initiatives are required to build a healthy nation.