It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for sports or music, and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people hold the belief that individuals with certain set of skills, such as good sportsmen or musicians, are born that way. However, others oppose this view and say that with the right amount of education and guidance any child can be taught to become great at anything, whether it is sports or music. Although I personally incline towards latter, there is some truth to the former theory.

Those who claim that a child is either born a sportsman or not say so, because a child has to be born with good and healthy physical bodily features. You cannot expect a chubby short kid to become a great runner or a handicapped person to become a dancer. Therefore, it is believed that whatever a person does in his life is determined to some extent at his birth by his physical and psychological capacities. There is a theory, although there is little evidence to support it, that babies born to mothers who listen to classical music while being pregnant, grow up to become musicians or philosophers themselves. To put it simply, in many ways a person’s career and life is influenced at his birth, by his physical and mental capabilities.

On the other hand, many argue that child can be taught anything with the right training and education. Although being born in good health is necessary to pursue a good career, proper teaching and guidance cannot be overlooked. There would be no point in having schools and colleges, if we believed that people are born with certain talents and not taught. Take the examples of numerous acting schools throughout the world that produce great actors every year. Hence, excellence can be achieved with good guidance under great mentors, even if a child is born with some disadvantages.

In conclusion, even though it is possible for prodigies to be rarely born, most children need education that helps them to become greatly skillful.