Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

acquisition of a second language has long been considered by many to be an important part of education, but some believe that it is unnecessary for the majority of people who do not intend to travel or work in other countries. While it is true that most people that study a language in school may never get the chance to use it, there are benefits to studying language beyond an increased capacity to communicate.

The largest argument against learning foreign languages is most common to citizens of english speaking countries and it concerns the relative usefulness of a second language as compared to studying something more immediately relevant to their lives. They believe, with some justification, that everyone else knows english anyway, making their studies pointless.

While it is true that english is the lingua franca of our time, the ability to communicate is only one of the benefits of language acquisition. there are many notable benefits for the brain when we learn new tongues, for example, it has been proven to reduce the chances of dementia in the elderly and keep our brains healthy for longer. learning a language also allows you to experience other cultures and access information in a way that is impossible to achieve with google translate.

Even though, especially for english speakers, it might seem to be unnecessary to learn a second language, the benefits of doing so are uncountable. it is impossible to understand foreign people and their cultures without learning their lexicon and in the modern world that seems to be a more important skill than ever before.