Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The primary drive for foreign language learning is open to debate in the context of globalisation. Although overseas trips for work or fun can be a purpose, it is not the only one to encourage people to learn another language from my perspective.

Some claim that learning a foreign language primarily aims to travel or work abroad for several reasons. Among the explanations is the objective consequence of globalisation. The influence of multinational companies and improved communication globally connecting different cultures and economies have led to a rise in the number of people needing overseas jobs, which results in a growth in the demand for foreign language proficiency accordingly. Another well-based ground to support mastering learning another language is the benefits it can yield to holidaymakers, overseas entrepreneurs and workers. To travellers, knowing a foreign language can open the door to their cultural life fulfilment and provide them with potential opportunities to broaden their horizons, allowing them to enjoy their trips wholesomely. Regarding those working in the economic field, overseas staffers can regard their foreign language mastery as a strength in their CV and cooperation with their colleagues. Meanwhile, entrepreneurs working abroad can boost their business trade internationally thanks to their language ability.

Nevertheless, there are more purposes for foreign language mastery than just travelling and working abroad. One of the most apparent drives is to benefit linguistic intelligence and other cognitive abilities. The theory of multiple intelligences shows that language competence can be a type of human intelligence since it contributes to human ultimate intellectual capacity. Besides, language learning can help develop strong cognitive skills, such as better concept formation, mental flexibility, multitasking, analytical skills and problem-solving. Another aim of foreign language learning is to develop social skills since it can enhance people's confidence to communicate with people around the world and let them make friends internationally, allowing them to understand foreign traditions and cultural diversity and spread their culture to the world. Furthermore, in the case of students, foreign language proficiency is a criterion to evaluate academic ability at school, as at least a foreign language is mandatory in an academic syllabus.

In conclusion, travelling or working overseas can be one but not the only drive for mastering another foreign language.