Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are people in this world, who are of the idea that it is probably best to accept an unpleasant situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or being short of money, rather than try and do something about it. On the contrary, we have some people that preach us not to tolerate such situations and always keep striving for betterment. I personally tend to incline towards the latter ideology, while maintaining sympathy for the others.

Surviving in this world is not easy, let alone becoming successful. Therefore, some people do not struggle more than necessary to change their lives. Such people try to be content and grateful for what they have, although it may not be much. Because there is so much competition in every field of work, people do not take risks anymore. Statistics from Harvard School of Economics last year showed that only one out of thousand entrepreneurs become successful. This study favors the notion that it is wiser to accept your place in life. To put it simply, people who don’t struggle for betterment have accepted their fates and are happy with what they have.

On the other hand, individuals who argue for struggling and improving their situation, do it because they are ambitious. They believe in the philosophy of hard work and self-worth. No great thing was ever achieved by accepting the fate and losing hope, rather great achievements were made possible by perpetual hard work and high ambitions. There are many examples in contemporary world, like Microsoft, Apple and Facebook that would not have been made, if their inventors had accepted their situation and never tried. Hence, having ambitions along with the stamina for hard work is the key to get out of badly stagnant situations in life.

In conclusion, both philosophies have their strong point but I would always choose the latter one. Even though accepting your fate is lot easier, the reward you get for struggling to improve your situation easily outweighs anything else.