Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that concern them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

How children should be brought up has always been a controversial issue. It is believed that allowing children to decide freely on daily issues may lead them to selfishness while others disagree with it claiming that it is advantageous for them. There are many arguments supporting these views.

On the one hand, opponents of the idea argue that this convey the message to them that their desires have higher priority over the others' wishes. In other words, if in a family a child has the right to determine, for example, what food should be cooked, this means that they have the right to ignore their parents' desires. Consequently, when parents, who are the most important persons for a child, can be overlooked, this message is conveyed that everyone can be ignored in relation to their desires. Moreover, doing an activity frequently results in the fact that the related qualities become part of an individual's character. Since making decisions on daily issues involves thinking of a child's wishes, this eventually leads to their self-importance.

On the other hand, supporters insist that developing a quality in an individual is far easier in childhood than in adulthood. Decisiveness is what is really needed in adulthood. This can be cultivated by allowing children to decide on what concerns them. Proponents of permitting young individuals to decide on daily issues believe that these decisions are practices which tend to promote their decisiveness. Furthermore, self-esteem which is a feature that influences individuals' confidence, is developed by this permission. By granting permission to a child to decide on what affects them, they will find out that they are appreciated. As a consequence, this promotes the children's self-esteem.

In conclusion, although it would appear that permitting a child to make choices on daily issues might have drawbacks, the advantages of the idea outweigh.