Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others, however, believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

Some people advocate that zoos should be prohibited because of its savagery. However, others think that captivity is an inseparable part of conserving numerous species. While zoos, perhaps, are cruel to some extent, I believe that we should not dismiss the role of zoos.

According to several people’s perspectives, zoos are cruel and unethical because they restrict the movement of animals, which prevents them from freely choosing where to go and how to live. Instead, it is thought that they have a right to enjoy their freedom to do whatever they want in natural habitat. If wild animals are captive, they will experience a sense of depression and anxiety, adversely affecting their mental state. Besides, captive animals might gradually forget the skills and capabilities to hunt preys, in which they are of fundamental importance when living in the wild.

Alongside the negative influence of zoos, I believe that zoos are responsible for the conservation of numerous animals nowadays. First, animals in good zoos could get a varied and high-quality diet with all the supplements required, and any illness, which they might be prone to, will be treated. Their movements might be restricted but they could experience a safe environment to live, and they are spared bullying and social ostracism by others of their kind. Second, they do not suffer from the threat of predators, the pain of parasites, starvation, and injuries. For instance, recent research has shown that the average captive animals have a greater life expectancy compared to their wild counterparts. Hence, zoos could be beneficial to the long-term survival of animals.

In conclusion, although some people believe that animals should not be kept in cages, and zoos should be banned within society, I think that zoos have a positive impact on animals, especially in terms of protecting them.