An increasing number of people are buying what they want need online. what are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping online?

The tendency of purchasing online products is increasingly prevalent within society. In my opinion, while the main benefit of this trend is the cut in the daily expenses of consumers and companies, several drawbacks could pose a problem on them as well.

In terms of the cut in daily expenses, buying necessities online benefits individuals by its convenience and comfort as they do not need to head off streets and go directly to the shop, which often takes much time and effort. Instead, shopping online websites allow them to choose and offer products regardless of geographical barriers as long as the Internet is stabilized. Thus, people could take advantage of it to reduce petroleum costs that they often spend on vehicles to shop traditionally. Besides, e-commerce business also reduces a great amount of budget for companies because it often requires lower operating costs and saves thousands of dollars on store rental fees, inventory costs, and staff wages.

Apart from the positive impact of e-commerce expressed above, several disadvantages are becoming evident. Some households, locating in rural areas may not have an opportunity to get online because the Internet may yet to be developed, which prevent them from utilizing online websites. Furthermore, due to the importance of online marketing, retailers could encounter a great expenditure on maintaining their websites and a secure system for the website itself. If their websites are insecure and providing bad experiences to the users, the risk of losing online consumers will occur.

In conclusion, while the benefit of purchasing online products includes the reduced expenses of people and companies, the shortage of the Internet and the low-quality of websites could contribute to the disadvantages.