In some countries, private cars are now banned from certain city centres.

What are the advantages of such a system and do you feel that this is something that most cities should adopt?

In different city centres, there is a measure that forbid four wheels private transport and I suppose that a myriad of benefits come from this policy and I strongly support its expansion.

To begin with, I believe in the benefits of introduction of such policy on both the environment and human. The prohibition of family-owned cars would be a stimulus for the use of public transport, a funding source for governments. In addition, it also helps to alleviate the large volume on traffic on roads, reducing traffic congestion and road degradation, minimizing the amount of fumes emitted to the environment. Futhurmore, car restriction is also a discouragement factor on future car purchases, prolonging the above benefits.

As far as I am concerned, I strongly support the deployment of this policy in urban centres. Firstly, people now have to face with the alarming status of environment, especially the greenhouse effect and air pollution partly from fumes emitted. Secondly, it is notable that the birth rate has increased significantly over the past few years, which contributes to the evergrowing population, which is the main contributing factor to high traffic volume. Therefore, car restriction policies would be great help for the current situation.

However, as for the rising living standards these days, it is normal for most families living in city centres to have their own car, in which car restriction could suffer from major objection. Besides, bankruptcy could occur among large car manufacturers since wealthy city-dwellers are main customers of them, which could leave a negative effect on the economy. Hence, I think charging a higher fee for car usage could be a better measure, leaving private transport as a luxurious mode of transport for the upperclass.

In conclusion, due to environmental concerns and dense population contributes to high amount of trafffic, the benefits of such car restriction policy are valuable. However, complete ban in city centres could arise other problems, I highly support charging a higher fee for car driving.