In some countries, private cars are banned fro certain city centers. What are the advantages of such a system and do you feel that this is something that most cities should adopt?

The government of certain countries have prohibited the entry of private cars in city center premises, whereas some other nation’s governments are not moving so strongly against the rules regarding personal cars at city centers. I believe that the cars coming to city centers should be in controlled numbers, instead of just banning it right away.

Due to the onset of globalization, the city centers have become a hub for multinational organization’s offices, where thousands of employees come to work, some of whom may live far away from the city. There is an utmost need of a personal vehicle for such people to commute to work daily on time. The fact that not every country’s public transport is so well developed or fully capable of carrying a large number of people to work reliably every day also calls for the need to opt for private vehicles. For example, in my country, India, despite best efforts of government, one can easily find themselves struggling to find a place to even stand on the metro trains.

Despite the benefits that cars provide to humans, we should limit their usage and not be over reliant on them. First of all, they are a major source of the increasing level of air pollution in the environment. Secondly, the presence of a large number of cars often leads to ugly traffic jams, which make it impossible to reach anywhere on scheduled time ever. For instance, in India, such is the crisis of road transport in certain cities that it takes over two hours just to cover a mere 30 kilometers.

So, to conclude, in my opinion, the need for such drastic measures like banning the cars completely is not imminent in every city, and the governments can instead limit their numbers and solve this problem.