Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement. To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

The people of any city have differing views when the subject of enforcing of laws for proper and timely waste disposal is considered. I believe that laws may work to an extent, but having adequate garbage management sites is more important than that.

People tend to throw their domestic waste in the streets or in a landfill. They feel that maintaining garbage bins and then separating wet and dry waste is a tiresome activity. This is leading to big piles of garbage in many cities which are increasing in number. Such sites have become a breeding ground for many disease carrying insects and animals. If everyone gets rid of their waste products, our cities would become a much cleaner and healthier place to live.

If recycling becomes a legal requirement, the number of people adopting that practice will surely increase. There are some people who act only if they are bound by the law to do so. On the contrary, there are also those people who understand their civic duties without the need of laws, and only need the right facilities to be in place. It may sound city or country specific, but waste management is a prominent issue in several big cities in the world. This is primarily due to lack of proper facilities in the metros. Governments should plan to make more recycling units near residential areas so that people do not have a reason to loiter the streets.

So to conclude, I believe that creation of such laws in the interest of protection of environment and ultimately our well-being, is very necessary along with the availability of proper arrangements for it.