Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The subject of speaking a second tongue is one with varying viewpoints among different age groups. A good portion of people believe that a foreign language is learnt to smoothen travel experience or to land a high paying job in a developed nation. On the other hand, several individuals argue that there are other reasons to consider learning a second language.

Before planning a tour, it is beneficial to learn some basic words of destination country for a smooth conversation with the locals, in case you need any help. Otherwise, people may struggle to ask for something as simple as water. The job prospects of an individual undoubtedly increase if they are proficient in another language when applying to a multinational company as it proves to be a valuable asset while conversing with foreign clients. For instance, I possess German-speaking skills which comes in handy whenever my colleagues face problems in understanding a customer from another country.

There is a horde of factors other than job or tour that instigate people to have a firm grasp of an alien language. Prospective students looking to study in a foreign university are generally required to prove their fluency in local language through qualifications such as IELTS, TOEFL and others. Individuals who wish to seek permanent residency (PR) in another country need to learn their language as a prerequisite, failing which their chances may plummet. Many people also learn a foreign language to work as a translator for government officials, which offers a handsome salary.

So, to conclude, in my opinion, there are numerous factors other than just job opportunities and tourist issues to learn a foreign language, which are equally important.