Many governments think that economic progress is their most important goal. Some people, however, think that other types of progress are equally important for a country.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some governments tend to focus largely or solely on improving the financial conditions, while the others also look out for other issues such as social problems, freedom, peace, clean environmental to name a few. I strongly believe that, as important as it is to improve economically, balanced development in other sectors is needed as well.

There are several reasons why the monetary condition of a nation should be adequate. Firstly, with the growth of economy, the number of job opportunities for the young population increase. This undoubtedly leads to lower rates of unemployment among the youth. Secondly, the advancements in areas such as healthcare, military services, transportation and infrastructure come hand in hand with the improving financial situation of a country. Lastly, as an economically affluent country, it becomes easier to make strong political and business associations with other developed countries, which could be useful in times of hardships.

On the other hand, there are several progress criterion that need to be acknowledged, other than economic progress. A country needs to make progress on political, social, environmental and cultural aspects as well. It is the duty of citizens and government to foresee that the nation’s growth is not happening at the cost of environment. Without the environment, there would not be a government left to rule. Furthermore, addressing of sufficient freedom and human rights to the people is also an indicator of the success of a country. No good can come for the country if its citizens are exploited and their rights are denied.

So, to conclude, I think that the results of economic development in a country can be amplified with the progress that it makes in other areas such as social, cultural and environmental.