Traffic on roads has become a problem in nearly every country in the world.

What can be done to reduce the amount of traffic at a society level and at an individual level?

The adverse effects of ever increasing population can be witnessed by the amount of traffic on the roads of almost every country. Human population will surely get surpassed by the number of vehicles on road in the coming years if the population rate and current buying trends do not change soon.

Collectively, the people of a nation have an array of options to reduce the jams on roads. First of all, a sense of responsibility needs to be inculcated among the citizens towards the environment, which is deteriorating alarmingly because of rising pollution levels from excessive burning of fuels in the vehicles. This can be done with the medium of plays, flash mob acts and other such activities. Secondly, governments need to provide the people with better quality public transport amenities, so that the citizens don’t feel the need to drive a personal vehicle to work. Lastly, the people living nearby can practice car-pooling, so that there is only one vehicle instead of four on the road.

An individual can contribute to the cause by opting for public transport such as trains or buses to work, irrespective of the fact whether they own a vehicle or not. People should be motivated to go to work on bicycles as well if the distance is not considerably long. It can help in checking traffic levels along with the added benefit maintaining healthy body for the rider and zero pollution. People belonging to a nuclear family should stop indulging in the bad habit of buying multiple cars. The lesser number of cars brought would ultimately reflect in the decreasing congestion on roads.

So to end, several steps are needed at personal and society level as well, to ensure that we are leaving a better quality road transport for the coming generation.