It is commonly believed that nowadays main factors that affect a child's development are media, pop culture and friends. A different point of view is that family plays the most significant role. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A child's maturity is affected by a multitude of factors, thus diversifying the variety of opinions about some select being the prime influences. One consensus of which is that such predominant factors are media, pop culture and peers, while others believe family to be paramount. This essay will give delve deeper to both aforementioned views before deriving a coherent conclusion supportive of the latter.

External factors affects a child's future in critical ways due to several reasons. To begin with, as technological progression and living standard escalation have been taking place over the last few decades, children have been endowed with considerably increased accessibility to electronic devices, thus spending comparably more time on the media and contemporary culture than with their family. Considering their imitative nature and plasticity, they form their belief system through exposure to the media, the books they read, the music they listen to and so on. In addition, playing in groups with their peers along with comparably more time at school and playing than time at home for most children, they also receive profound influence from their peers.

Despite aforementioned explanations, external factors pale in comparison to family members in terms of influences on a person's development. Firstly, their malleability is at its peak in their very young age while parents are almost always present at this stage of their life, thus making parents the sole influencers inasmuch as children mimic their closest relatives' actions. Secondly, family bonding and emotional attachment ever since birth is superior and can supersede any other factors, where children can freely express their interests, wishes and needs to their parents who will suitably address. Last but not least, in retrospect, children's choice and experiences of media and pop culture are initially instilled and chosen by their family members, in which growing in a family filled with adequate care would shape a prosperous future, whereas the opposite goes for a dysfunctional family.

After analyzing both views in details, I state my opinion that family hold sway over a child's development. However, the outside world's role is also significant especially considering the time children spend with those factors.