Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered

on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In my opinion the online courses that the universities offer has a positive effect. These classes are a great example of the usage and advancement of technology. In my opinion these classes are a great substitute o the regular classes for the following reasons.

Firstly, the timings of the classes are quite flexible which allows the students taking the course to attend classes at their ease. Most students in the universities are involved in various activities like sports, drama, debates, singing and many more which takes up a lot of their time. These activities are not only important to them but are also necessary for one’s personal development. Sometimes, a situation may arise that a student is not able to attend the class and miss the curriculum if there are regular classes instead of the online classes. However, if there are online classes available the student could take the lecture at some other time and stay updated with the class syllabus as most of the online classes are recorded and can be accessed at any time.

Secondly, the universities offering online courses can benefit students at a much global scale than the universities offering only regular classes. Students from around the globe can take up online courses from remote areas of the world without even leaving their houses. Even for students living close to the universities have an advantage to attend classes from home because sometimes due to bad weather, car situations and some other emergency they don’t have to come all the way to college to attend the class.

Concluding, the online classes have made university education more flexible and accessible. It is surely a boon in the education systems and students can benefit from it a lot.