The following appeared in a memorandum written by the managing director of the Exeunt Theater Company:

“Now that we have moved to a larger theater, we can expect to increase our revenues from ticket sales. To further increase profits, we should start producing the plays that have been most successful when they were performed in our nation’s largest cities. In addition, we should hire the Adlib Theater Company’s director of fund-raising, since corporate contributions to Adlib have increased significantly over the three years that she has worked for Adlib.”

The author proposes that to increase the profits the Executive Theater Company should start producing plays because they were a great hit nation’s largest cities. Also, they should hire the Adlib Theater Company’s director of fund-raising, since corporate contributions to Adlib have increased significantly over the three years that she has worked for Adlib. Close examination of the assumptions reveal that they cannot be lend credible in the support if the argument.

Firstly, a larger theater doesn’t guarantee increase in the revenue of the ticket sale. The author provides no rigorous evidence that the increase in the size of the theater would result in the rise of revenue of the ticket sales.

Secondly, if the theater company starts producing play it may or may not be advantageous to the company. The author assumes just because the plays were a hit in the larger cities, similar would be the case here.

Thirdly, hiring the Adlib Theater Company’s director of fund-raising, might not be the righteous act as there is no evidence that the increase in the corporate contribution was her doing. Hiring her may not contribute to the profits of the company as the author assumes. The author fails to deliver proof in the support of the assumption.

To sum up, the above stated reasons nullify the author’s claim. The author must dig deeper and collect data supporting the claim that producing plays would provide bigger profits.