The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The author suggests that a business would prosper if it hires people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night on the basis of a study that showed an association between the amounts of sleeps the executives need and the success of their firms. This argument may look righteous at first glance, but a closer look raises a few questions. To legitimize the argument the below stated queries must be acknowledged.

Firstly, the conclusion that the firms should hire people who require less than 6-hour sleep is faulty. Various scientific studies over the years have successfully shown that an average human requires at least 6-8 hours to work efficiently. A person’s lifestyle has a deep impact on productivity, and, part of a healthy lifestyle is a healthy sleeping schedule. Only healthy executives would be an asset to the business firm. An unhealthy individual wouldn’t be of any use to the institution. So, the author’s point that less sleep would make executives more productive doesn’t hold water.

Secondly, the author is associating the success of the business entirely with the sleep schedule of the executives. The author is completely overlooking some vital factors like work hours, the potential of the executive, hard work, etc which weigh more to success of the business than one’s sleeping schedule. The author comes to a conclusion via a study that completely ignored some of the crucial aspects that give to the success of the business. Hence, it weakens the author’s front.

Finally, the author doesn’t provide sufficient proof to support the study implying the association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their respective firms. We are obscure about the work conditions of the executives who participated in this study. Also, the author is assuming that the conditions of all the workspaces is alike, which is fallacious. If the author had furnished us with further information, the argument would’ve been more acceptable.

The above-stated reasons nullify the author’s claim. To come to a conclusion based on the now provided information wouldn’t be a sound one. Had the author provided more details, the argument would’ve been credible.