Some people believe that the purpose of education is to free the mind and the spirit. Others believe that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

“Education replaces an empty mind with an open one”. Education is the first early investment for child development. Early education to higher education, craves the path of one’s life. It is well known how important a good education is, especially since we have many societies in the past that have let the masses go uneducated to compare to. . It not only teaches us about the course of the universe but introduces us to new possibilities. I strongly agree with the suggestion that formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free for two reasons.

To begin, formal education is channeled. Education systems all over the world have made a curriculum of education which has limited content leading to limited destinations. Due to this restricted curriculum, education systems fail to deliver the promise of learning without bounds. . Most people are in school not because they want to but because they have been told that probably after getting through to the tertiary level they will get meaningful jobs to do then they have made it in life. The evaluation criteria of the education system are same for each individual. Many students feel unsatisfied and incomplete with the restricted knowledge education system has to offer. You find a child who is very good at playing football sitting in a classroom with probably others who have other dreams that need to be nurtured but are forced to go through the school system because that is the order of the day. Albert Einstein said, “Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid”. A majority of students feel burdened and overwhelmed by the results and evaluation criteria. In this contemporary world, education has become a factor of measuring one’s success. A well educated individual is considered more valuable than an illiterate one. Real life experiences are less valued than the knowledge gained by books and confined learning. Formal education restricts our mind to only a room full of ideas and chances.

Secondly, Education doesn’t promise a happy and healthy lifestyle. Many people engage themselves in higher education with the goal of having a happy and satisfied life, merely end up feeling trapped in their own body. Many researchers have shown that jobs and workplace environment affect an individual’s mental and physical health. Most of the esteemed careers require higher education. Careers like Mathematicians, Physicists, Chemists, Actuary, Astronomer, Professor, etc. These professional careers may provide high income jobs but restrain an individual’s thinking process. Such confined thinking process filters out various possibilities in one’s life and builds a constricted course of life. For instance, an individual working as a Software Engineer in a big IT company for 9-10 hours a day, is limited to his workspace for large proportion of the day, this may limit his time to go out and enjoy the magnificent things that life has to offer. He’s unsatisfied with his life, spends the majority if his day staring at numbers and codes, feels depressed at the end of the day. On the other hand his less educated friend who chose to start a small business of his own rather than getting a college degree to get a job, gets plenty of time to indulge himself in the astonishing endeavors of life. What use is education if it takes away one’s peace of mind?

Sure, Education is important in one`s life. A gift of knowledge can bring us to the top of our dreams. It’s high time that we change the rigid idea of education and make it flexible enough to not feel like a burden.