Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

I disagree that hosting big sporting events like the world cup is a waste of money. Events like these have a great positive impact on a country. The reasons are discussed in detail below.

Firstly, hosting such big sporting events in a country builds a foundation of trust and helps build good relations among other countries. Sports are a great way to bring all the countries together under one roof peacefully playing sports. It is great cultural hub too. The players from all around the world get a chance to chit-chat and get familiar with each other. Hosting such events in a country is a matter of great pride for that country hence it is hardly a waste of money as it brings the countries together and closer.

Secondly, these sporting events promote a career in sports. It is not an obscure fact that career in sports is not regarded as successful one. But since the beginning of these big events players have respectful and a successful careers. These events give the players represent their country on a global scale. Events like these have given people courage and motivation to pursue a full-time career in sports. Many players coming from poor and middle class households are now international celebrities like Virat Kholi, Sania Mirza, P.V. Sindhu, etc. Big sporting events have also promoted the participation of woman athletes in sports. Their numbers have grown over the years. This is a great example of the positive effect these events have on the country.

Concluding, these events since the beginning have given great opportunities to the players and have provided them with successful careers. Sure there are problems in country which need attention and money but events like these are a serene way to put those problems aside and support the players of the country.