Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is disputed that whether money is squanderred to hold huge sport competitions, or the events have positive implications on the host nation. This essay will elaborate on both sides of the argument, and explain why the gains would overshadow the disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is beneficial for the country organizing the events in many dimensions. Large sport festivals open up opportunities for nations to build up their national images. The major undertaking being aired to milions of viewers and spectators will foster soft power, facilitating economic, cultural, social cooperations globally. Another advantage of holding international sporting events is that it spurs national sports development. While competing at Olympics and Worldcups are the prime aspiration, winning gold medals would rewards athletes with great sense of enjoyment and fulfillment. In the pursuit of participating in the major sport events as Olympics, athletes have to endlessly practice and enhance their performance which is the precursor of sport development.

On the other hand, there are dark sides of organizing major sport events. The first issue is that the host nation has to bear massive expenditure including new constructions of facilities and infrastructures. Despite the huge allocation of resources in advance, it is uncertain that the authorities are able to reap the benefits from the economic bet. It is not uncommon that the colossal cost of holding such events leaves nations mired down in debt afterwards. Additionally, the influx of foreign visitors may disturb the rhythem of local everyday life. Anomalous beliefs, exotic culture, and unfamiliar lifestyle coming along with outsiders may place the foreigners at odds with local citizens. This acts as a predecessor for unwanted hostility between local and overseas spectators.

In sum, the outcome of spending money on sport events is unclear and the events would disrupt the local ambiance. However, the organizers are given great chance to build up reputation and encourage domestic sports advancement.