Many people think that women should have given the same roles to male in military and police forces. Many people think that women are not suitable for this job. Discuss both views and give opinions.

It is commonly believed that female individuals should not take the positions of policemen and male soldiers as women may not be compatible with the professions. This essay will discuss both drawbacks and merits of the idea and explain why women can perform equally as men in police and military work.

On the one hand, it is well-known that police and the army are physically demanding and dangerous professions for women. In order to enter the occupations, candidates have to overcome intense training and endure harsh conditions. Meanwhile, women, who would be lack of physique in terms of stamina, endurance, and flex are less likely to meet the requirements. In addition, men appear to be decisive in important events, which enables them to react quickly in endangered circumstances. However, women, in general, tend to be indecisive and emotional, would find it difficult to pull the trigger, or arrest criminals in these situations.

On the other hand, there are some valuable qualities that only women can possess, are needed for the success of the police and military jobs. First, policewomen and female soldiers tend to be persuasive and sympathetic. This gives them a distinct advantage over their male counterparts in missions related to negotiation. Secondly, women get a good reputation for nurture instinct, which makes them more appropriate for being care-takers such as nurses, or doctors in military units. These types of positions not only suit their capabilities but reduce the risks while they are on the battlefield. Finally, even though the majority of women are not suitable for life-threatening tasks, there are some few standout females who are capable of doing these types of work. To illustrate, in Viet Nam, there is a special force established to deal with terrorism, which contains only female individuals.

In sum, I believe that women should be given more opportunities to join the police and army forces. Women are better at negotiating and nurturing, while some excellent policewomen and soldiers can work as well as their male colleagues, even though they are generally lack of physical strength.