Some people think that it is a waste of money for countries to host big sporting events like the world cup, and that the money would be better spent on other things. However, others think that hosting large sporting events has a clear, positive impact on a country. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is disputed that whether money is squanderred to hold huge sport competitions, or the events have positive implications on the host nation. This essay will elaborate on both sides of the argument, and explain why the gains would overshadow the disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is beneficial for the country organizing the events in many dimensions. Large sport festivals open up opportunities for nations to promote their national images to the world. The endorsement not only renders the host regconizable to the rest of the planet, but fosters their soft power, thus facilitates their economic, cultural, social cooperations globally. Another advantage of holding international sporting events is that it spurs sports development. Companies often utilize the reputation of renowned athletes such as Messi, Ussan Bolt for selling their offerings, which makes the moguls allot billion dollars to sponsor for the sports and players. The appearance of such eminent professionals in those major events thus would lure valuable resources to further the progression of sports in general.

On the other hand, there are dark sides of organizing major sport events. The first issue is that the host nation has to bear prodigous expense including new constructions, and refurbishment of available facilities and infrastructures. Despite the huge allocation of resources in advance, it is uncertain that the authorities are able to reap the benefits from the bet. It is not uncommon that the colossal cost of holding such events leaves nations mired down in debt afterwards. Additionally, the influx of foreign visitors may disturb the local ambience. Anomalous beliefs, exotic culture, and lifestyle would place the foreigners at odds with local citizens. This acts as a predecessor for unwanted hostility between local and overseas sport enthusiasts.

In sum, the outcome of spending money on sport events is unclear and the events would hobble the regular routine of local people. However, the organizers are given great chance to introduce their nations to the world and encourage domestic sports.