It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle in order to prevent illness than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is disputed that the authorities should invest in the promotion of a more active lifestyle rather than investing the curement of the sick. I partly agree with this suggestion as both approaches have their own advantages and believe that the government funding should be harnessed to meet the need of both.

It is understandable why some people advocate to the view that government should subsidize for those who have illnesses. This is because people have already contributed to their society through the tax system. Additionally, one of the foremost functions of public fund is to take care of the well-being of people. It is thus reasonable that individuals can reap the medical assitance from the wellfare system when they are sick. More importantly, treatmeant of the vulnerable is a demonstration of a civilized society. By supporting the patients, especially those who are disadvantged, governments send a message to the public that people are entitled access to the medical services, which gives them a sense of security.

Conversely, promotion of healthy ways of life implies several merits for the public. This encourages the active living ways which counter the negative implications of ubiquitous sedentary lifestyle nowadays. Given the technological advances in recent years, people have a tendency to reduce their physical activities due to the working nature and entertainment, which demand workers sit and mantain their postures in longer period. Another benefit of the government funding active lifestyle is reflected in the social life of their citizens. To encourage people do more exercises, governments often allocate the financial resources at its disposal to constructe recreational areas, public places at which sport equipment is installed. This supplies civilians with locations to socilize and expand their social circle, which give them a sense of communal life and fulfillment.

In sum, I am of the idea that public fund should be diverted in both healthy lifestle promotion and illness treament. While it is the responsibility of the government to safeguard their people from adversity, investment from public money in popularizing active lifestyle ameliorates the risks of modern life and strengthen the social solidarity.