In a study of the reading habits of Waymarsh citizens conducted by the University of Waymarsh, most respondents said they preferred literary classics as reading material. However, a second study conducted by the same researchers found that the type of book most frequently checked out of each of the public libraries in Waymarsh was the mystery novel. Therefore, it can be concluded that the respondents in the first study had misrepresented their reading preferences.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

This argument state that the respondents in the first study misrepresented their reading habits because the most frequently checked-out type of the public libraries in Waymasrh is the mystery novel, while the most favored type of book by the respondents in the first study is the genre of literary classics. However, the argument depends on unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First, it is assumed that the respondents of the first study are the same as those of the following study. Unless the author shows that those participated in the two studies are the same group of people, this assumption is flawed. Besides, the argument does not provide any chronological information regarding the studies. It might be that those studies are too far apart from each other in time, and there might have been shift of reading patterns.

Moreover, the statistics of the public libraries do not necessarily represent the reading habits of the residents in Waymarsh. The population who goes to the public libraries might not represent the entire community of readers. It is possible that adult readers do not have time to go the library, and instead they buy or download books on their tabloids to read while commuting to work. It is also possible that a small, but consistent group of people keep checking out the same types of books over and over again.

Above all, the fact that people check out a specific genre of books does not exactly entail that they love it. It might be more correct assume that people want to buy rather than to borrow the books that they really prefer so they can keep them. In addition, the public libraries in Waymarsh might not have a wide range of books in their collection, so the users might not have a lot of options.

In sum, based on the unwarranted assumptions mentioned above, the argument fails to provide enough evidence that the reading preferences for the first study have been misrepresented. Unless the argument present more specific date on the participants, time of the surveys, demographics of the library users, or bookstore sales, it lacks logical reasoning and evidence.