The department of agriculture in Batavia reports that the number of dairy farms throughout the country is now 25 percent greater than it was 10 years ago. During this same time period, however, the price of milk at the local Excello Food Market has increased from $1.50 to over $3.00 per gallon. To prevent farmers from continuing to receive excessive profits on an apparently increased supply of milk, the Batavia government should begin to regulate retail milk prices. Such regulation is necessary to ensure fair prices for consumers.

In this argument the author claims that government of Batavia should regulate retail milk prices to make sure fair prices for consumers. However this argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and it is unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the author’s sated that percentage of number of dairy farms is now greater than it was 10 years ago but the reliability of the increment is questionable. While the percentage increased, the sample size of its farms need to mentioned. If the sample size of the dairy farms was extremely small, this data is not the actual reason of excessive profits on increased of milk. Also, each dairy farms have different capacity of reproducing amount of milk. Even if the number of farms increased, it is possible that current farm has less capacity than the past. For example, if one individual farm in the past can produce 5 times more than a current individual farm, there is no much difference between decades. Therefore, further evidence of actual sample size and the producing capacity of each farms needed to support the claim. Unless the author offers sufficient data, this assumption is logically flawed.

Similarly, increased price of product are not guarantee the author’s claim that farmers are receiving excessive profits. Although the local Excello Food market had increased price of milk, this is not representing whole of Batavia milk prices and profits. For example, there might have some other reasons that only Excello Food market has to increase all of the products price. Furthermore, compare with 10 years ago, the inflation rate might be increased due to the development. Also, other process of producing milk can be added, such as sanitizing process. Those factors can influenced the price of milk. As the presented figure could affect the price of products and people can misunderstand of the profits.

In sum, the author’s claim is not very well supported. Evidence of precise date and causing fact of increment of price is crucial in validating the claim.