The following appeared in a health magazine published in Corpora.

"Medical experts say that only one-quarter of Corpora's citizens meet the current standards for adequate physical fitness, even though twenty years ago, one-half of all of Corpora's citizens met the standards as then defined. But these experts are mistaken when they suggest that spending too much time using computers has caused a decline in fitness. Since overall fitness levels are highest in regions of Corpora where levels of computer ownership are also highest, it is clear that using computers has not made citizens less physically fit. Instead, as shown by this year's unusually low expenditures on fitness- related products and services, the recent decline in the economy is most likely the cause, and fitness levels will improve when the economy does."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument the author claims that when the economy situation will improve the levels of fitness will does by giving of expenditure on fitness has pointed low. However, the measure seems plausible, this argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First, the argument state that there were one-half of Corpora’s citizens met the standards of adequate physical fitness in twenty years ago. However, this data might not clear. In order to corroborate this conclusion, the author ought to point out exact time interval of research. This is because people might be moved during the period of times during the research terms and this can mislead the conclusion of data even it is not true. Therefore, author should demonstrated the exact time interval and movement of citizens between the two researches.

Furthermore, the argument assert that using computers has made decline of fitness and increase number of inadequate physical fitness standards. Although, this data is true, author should demonstrate clear relations between the use of computers and declining of fitness. This is because, increase using of computers is nature phenomena when the worlds are changing as computer centered work environments rather than using paper and textbooks. Therefore, author need to state exact explanation of relation between those two factors because world trends can weaken the authors’ assumption.

Finally, the author maintains that by low expenditure of fitness, only economic growth can help to increase level of fitness. However, this is not clear that people will spends more money when they earns more. This is because, people might want to use their money on other area as traveling or in the worst case they can spend time with drinking. Also, expenditure of fitness are not only reasons for to make adequate standards of physical level. There are other ways to enhance their standard, such as hiking and exercising at the park. Therefore, further evidences are required to corroborate his or her statement.

In sum, the authors assumption that economic increase will help fitness level might be logically flawed based on the above mention reasons. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should closely examine all the conditions and possible factors. In conclusion, the author’s argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.