In any field of endeavor, it is impossible to make a significant contribution without first being strongly influenced by past achievements within that field.

Now a days, there are so many innovative works were materials are invented and still many researcher and scientist are struggling to change a world more convenient and safe. Most of significant contributions are sometimes influenced by past achievements but some are not.

Admittedly, most of the new research are based on the precede achievements. For instance, Facebook founder get an idea from the graduate photo books which they want people to get connected. Their constant thinking eventually leads big social media platform. Furthermore, post-it sticker notes was the failure work of past works, which was to make strong adhesive glue. Those of significant works were based on the preceding works and research.

However, some of the works came from the unintended situations. Newton's gravity laws was firstly came up with the Newton because of a sudden trop of apple. This laws was made of totally different field or situations. But this kind of new approaches are faced many objection by other conventional scientists.

While strong arguments can be made for and against the given statement, agreement seems more plausible. New contribution and materials are sometimes came up with and change the world, but most of the significant contribution can see the light if the basic research and study can support and maximized the influence. Because other people can easily understand and accept easily.

In conclusion, there might have many different thought of the above issues. But I take a position on past achievements within that filed can make significant contribution.