Two years ago, consultants predicted that West Egg's landfill, which is used for garbage disposal, would be completely filled within five years. During the past two years, however, the town's residents have been recycling twice as much material as they did in previous years. Next month the amount of recycled material—which includes paper, plastic, and metal—should further increase, since charges for pickup of other household garbage will double. Furthermore, over 90 percent of the respondents to a recent survey said that they would do more recycling in the future. Because of our town's strong commitment to recycling, the available space in our landfill should last for considerably longer than predicted.

In this argument the author claim’s that West Egg’s landfill space will last for longer than they predicted. However, this argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, the author’s sated that town residents have recycled twice as much aluminum and paper as they did in previous years. However this does not provide any evidence to support this assumption. It is possible that initial recycled amount might be too law to compare. For example, resident of West Egg have no idea of how to throw away their plastics and papers due to the lack of facilities and education. So after their infrastructure of recycled method was well launched, the amount material recycled can be increase surprisingly. Moreover, there will be other factor that non-resident of West Egg can throw away their trash without recycled. For instance, there might be some factories waste that can affect their recycling rate. Because of the factories are stop working the non-recycled amount get decreased. Therefore, further evidence that predicting next month recycled amount is needed to support the claim. Unless the author offers sufficient data, this assumption is logically flawed.

Similarly, the claims that ninety percent of the respondents to a recent survey can demonstrate the future amount of recycling. Nevertheless, the author offers no evidence to verify this assumption. To satisfy the claim survey of respondents should be detailed. While the recent survey shows that ninety percent of respondent will do more recycling in the future but need to verify that data is reliable. For example, people can lie on the survey paper to get good image and reputation of being eco-friendly person. Moreover, sample size of the responds can be small. To satisfy the claims more sample of respondent and convincing evidence will be needed.

To sum, the author’s assumption that there will be available space in their landfill contradict to the prediction that will be filled within five years. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should closely examine all the condition and possible factors of any potential and additional factors that influenced previous data and validation of the survey. In conclusion, the author’s argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidence.