The vice president of human resources at Climpson Industries sent the following recommendation to the company's president.

"In an effort to improve our employees' productivity, we should implement electronic monitoring of employees' Internet use from their workstations. Employees who use the Internet from their workstations need to be identified and punished if we are to reduce the number of work hours spent on personal or recreational activities, such as shopping or playing games. By installing software to detect employees' Internet use on company computers, we can prevent employees from wasting time, foster a better work ethic at Climpson, and improve our overall profits."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the author claims that Climpson Industries should implement electronic monitoring of employees’ Internet use form their workstations to improve their productivity. However, this argument depends on several unsubstantiated assumptions and is therefore unpersuasive as it stands.

First of all, it is not clear of a data that how much or many unproductive loss have been effected to Climpson Industries. In order to corroborate this claims, the author ought to point out exact measurement of the losing cost of Climpson. This is because employees can use their Internet while day have spare time during company such as lunch time and so on. Therefore, unless the author offers sufficient evidence, this assumption is logically flawed.

Similarly, the argument maintains that installing software improve their overall profits. Yet, the author offers no evidence to verify this assumptions. To satisfy the claims, he or she need to calculate overall cost of their installation fees. This is because applying all the employees’ workstation can cost a lot and also they need to think about the future maintenance fees when the software need to be update. The overall cost of installation fees can be surpass their budgets. Therefore, the author have to make assumptions with careful consideration.

In addition, the situation may be different with the types of Climpson Industries are focusing on. In other words, they should define the types of industry of Climpson Industries. This is because when Climpson Industries are generating their profits with sales with other customers, installing software to prevent of using internet might be hinder their works. To be specific, employees need to use internet to get a new ideas and to communicate with potential customers. Therefore, just circumscribing of using Internet is not convincing.

To sum, the author’s assumption that implementing electronic monitoring software is logically flawed based on the above mention reasons. To strengthen his or her argument, the author should closely ruminate all the conditions and possible factors. In conclusion, the authors’ argument reflects unsupported claims without clear reasons or evidences.